Gatland selects an unchanged starting team to face Australia

Alum Wyn Jones becomes Wales’ most capped player as he leads the team out in their second Wrold Cup Game against Australia.

Wales have named an unchanged starting XV to face Australia in their second Rugby World Cup Pool D encounter in Tokyo on Sunday (September 29 – KO 16.45 local / 08.45 UK).

Captain Alun Wyn Jones will make history in Japan this weekend as he becomes Wales’ all-time leading appearance record holder when he makes his 130th appearance for his country.

Sunday will be Jones’ 119th start for Wales since he made his debut in 2006.  In total, with nine additional British & Irish Lions test appearances he moves onto 139 test appearances, joint fourth on the all-time test appearance list, level with former Australia captain George Gregan.

Jones will feature in the same pack that recorded an opening bonus point victory over Georgia on Monday evening.  Jake Ball will pack down alongside the skipper with Wyn Jones, Ken Owens and Tomas Francis named in the front-row.  Aaron Wainwright, Justin Tipuric and Josh Navidi form the back-row.

Gareth Davies and Dan Biggar continue their partnership at half-back with Hadleigh Parkes and Jonathan Davies lining up together in the midfield.  Josh Adams, George North and Liam Williams are named as the back-three.

The one change in Wales’ matchday squad comes on the bench where Owen Watkin comes into the 23 jersey.  He provides backline cover alongside Tomos Williams and Rhys Patchell.  Elliot Dee, Nicky Smith and Dillon Lewis are named as the front-row replacements with Aaron Shingler and Ross Moriarty completing the line-up.


1. Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (16 Caps)
2. Ken Owen (Scarlets) (68 Caps)
3. Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (44 Caps)
4. Jake Ball (Scarlets) (37 Caps)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys) (129 Caps) (CAPT)
6. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) (13 Caps)
7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys) (67 Caps)
8. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (20 Caps)
9. Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (45 Caps)
10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints) (74 Caps)
11. Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues) (15 Caps)
12. Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets) (19 Caps)
13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) (77 Caps)
14. George North (Ospreys) (87 Caps)
15. Liam Williams (Saracens) (59 Caps)
16. Elliot Dee (Dragons) (23 Caps)
17. Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (32 Caps)
18. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues) (16 Caps)
19. Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) (21 Caps)
20. Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (35 Caps)
21. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues) (10 Caps)
22. Rhys Patchell (Scarlets) (14 Caps)
23. Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (16 Caps)