Quidditch Championship comes to the Cardiff Arms park

That’s right Muggles, the magical sport of Quidditch is having it’s Premier League Championship here in Cardiff. Rather than zipping around on broomsticks, the activity sees players take to the field in a game that is a mixture of lacross, rugby and dodgeball.
The Quidditch Premier League was founded in November 2016 as a way of showcasing the top talent in UK’s Quidditch teams during the summer months – bringing the themed sport to new audiences. Now, all ten teams will come together for the biggest national event of the Quidditch calendar.
Inspired by J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series, Quidditch has developed into it’s own sport, with 20,000 competing international players, 25 competing countries, and an international rulebook.

Img – Jessica Cornelius

The Quidditch Premier Championship is the climax of the summer league of elite competitive play. The season’s first competition starts in June and the championship is held in August. It will see 10 teams battle it out for the title of National Champions, marking the end to the QPL’s second season.
On the championship day, there will be a series of games which will lead to the elimination rounds, that will include the finals. The contest will be held at Cardiff Arms Park Stadium on August 25th and it will be a day long event, which is open to muggles and magicians to watch.
As well as our very own magical team the Welsh Dragons, the championship will also have teams from around the UK –  Including 2017 champions the West Midlands Revolution , London Monarchs, Southwest Broadside, Southeast Knights, Eastern Mermaids, Yorkshire Roses, East Midlands Archers, Northern Watch and Scottish Thistles.
Want to take part? 
You can try out for the Welsh Dragons on the 24th February at an open try out in Swansea at St Helens Recreational Ground. Sign up Here 

How does quidditch work?
A quidditch team consists of 21 athletes with 7 players per team on the field at any one time. Each player has a broom between their legs. The four maximum rule of quidditch states that at most there can be four players of the same gender on pitch at one time. This ensures that the game is mixed gender and inclusive to all.
Players can be one of four positions:
Keepers – Guard the hoops from opposing chasers and become a 4th chaser on offense.Chasers – Throw the quaffle through the opposite team’s hoops to score goals worth 10 points.Beaters -Throw bludgers at the opposing team to ‘knock them out’ and make them return to hoops.Seekers – Catch the snitch (worth 30 points) to end the game.
A team of 7 will have 1 Keeper, 3 Chasers, 2 Beaters and 1 Seeker. A game of quidditch involves three types of balls:
The Quaffle – a semi-deflated volleyball thrown through the hoops by chasers and keepers.Bludgers – dodgeballs thrown at other players by beaters. There are 3 bludgers on the pitch.The Snitch – a sock with a tennis ball in it, attached to the snitch runner’s shorts. When caught by either team’s seeker, the game ends.

You may also like